Why The Creative Quoting System Is An Anachronism.

19163463 copy 3I get calls or emails from small agencies, marketing companies and design companies pretty regularly. They talk to me for a while then send me a document and ask me for a estimate.

Then, for any one of a number of reasons, mostly having to do with money, I never hear from them again.

What’s Wrong With This Picture?

From my point of view, it could be the quoting system that most small agencies, marcoms and designcos employ.

Most of the people who solicit freelance work from creative suppliers (like me) already have, tucked away inside their heads, an idea of what their budget will allow for the work that’s required.

Admittedly, it can often be lower than I would normally charge. But, and this is a very important point, it’s a new world out there and a new economy. I know what creative organizations and their clients are going through. It’s not always pretty and it requires a great deal of flexibility on the part of people like me to help keep things affordable for people like you.

What you may not realize, and maybe it’s just because nobody has come right out and said it, is that you really don’t have to settle for something less than you wanted because you don’t have the budget to match up to some estimate that’s basically just an educated guess anyway.

How To Create A Win Win Situation.

If you want a good creative supplier (like me) to work on your stuff, you can save yourself a lot of hassle by simply letting me know what your budget will allow. Much more often than not, it won’t be a problem.

All of the solid long term relationships I have had over the years, (and there have been many) have started with a client (like you) being straight up about what they can afford for a particular job and with me being as understanding and accommodating as sanity allows.

It sure beats asking for an estimate and hoping you can afford it. And at the end of the day, everybody wins.

O&U SignatureJim Murray, Creative Director
Direct Line: 416 463-3475
Email: jim@onandup.ca
Web Site: www.onandup.ca

Leave a Reply

