This Time…It’s Personal

19163463 copy 3In addition to writing my blog every couple of weeks, I also have a couple of streams running on Facebook. They are a FB version of my Couch Potato Chronicles review column and another feature called The Friday Nite Sermon, which ranges outside of entertainment into more personal areas.

While I was out riding around yesterday, I was thinking about my own content management program and it occurred to me that I don’t always have to spend time creating a totally original blog when I can also do a better job of managing the content I create in other media.

I’ve never subscribed to the notion that blogging necessarily demonstrates your expertise in a convincing way, since it’s always so beat-around-the-bushy. So I usually post stuff that’s pretty direct. But because I would feel somewhat remiss if I didn’t at least try this out a bit, I have decided to, on occasion, share with you my other side.

THE FRIDAY NITE SERMON: A Thanksgiving Wish

Every Thanksgiving that I can remember, we have bought and slaved over the preparation of a traditional turkey dinner. And by we, I mean my wife.

This year, I said screw it and bought a big ham instead.Not because I like ham more than turkey…it’s kind of a toss-up for me. But because a ham has the added benefit of freeing up almost the entire day for my wife.

I am thankful for my wife. And not just at Thanksgiving. She has been an amazing force for good in my life, definitely kept me from straying too deeply into the dark side for pretty much as long as I can remember. So anything I can do to make her life a little more pleasant, I will try my best.

In this case it’s the easy to prepare ham, as opposed to uber time consuming turkey.

Turkey is kind of a tradition at Thanksgiving, as evidenced by the fact that there were a lot more hams than turkeys available at Loblaws. And don’t get me wrong…it’s a great tradition. But, as I have documented in previous posts, I’m much more interested in the spiritual aspect of these holidays.

In the beginning Thanksgiving was a feast to celebrate the harvest and thank the Lord for the fact that you would have enough food stashed to make it through the winter, without getting scurvy or just plain starving. Today we don’t worry so much about stuff like that, and I suppose that’s a tribute to how far we’ve come and how secure our society makes the fortunate among us feel.

And I do feel fortunate. Everybody in my immediate family is healthy and happy. Life is pretty good. The heat and humidity of summer is gone. The days are warm and the nights are cool, Our country may be run by dougheads but is not at war with anyone, nor is it under attack. So I’d say, by and large I have a lot to be thankful for.

I know that a lot of you out there are dealing with adversity of one kind or another. It touches us all at some point. No one is immune. But this weekend, take a minute to just be thankful for everything in your life that’s going well. And, hey don’t OD on the turkey (or ham). Amen.

CPC BLOG LOGOTHE COUCH POTATO CHRONICLES FB EDITION: New Network Shows.

Generally speaking, I started out the season feeling pretty good about the crop of new shows that was flooding the airways. But one by one and with very few exceptions, I am starting to see the warts in a lot of them.

The comedies…forget about it. They pretty much all suck except for Brooklyn Nine Nine, and I can see that one getting old real soon.

The dramas are faring a little better, but still not much to write home about…with the exception of The Black List, which is head and shoulders above almost everything and my designated Guilty Pleasure, Sleepy Hollow, I can take or leave pretty much anything else.

Granted, the new season is still young and I will be able to update you better after the World Series is done and a bunch of other new shows make their appearance, But right now…it’s still slim pickins’. Thankfully, there are a lot of great returning shows. NCIS, Elementary, Person of Interest, Blue Bloods. Hawaii Five-O, and best of all, Scandal & The Good Wife.

For more info on when the new fall shows are airing, go here. http://www.tvguide.com/special/fall-preview/new-shows.aspx
Well there you have it, the almost 360 view of me. Hope you enjoyed it, cause there’s more where that came from .

O&U SignatureI create and implement strategically focused

branding, advertising & promotion for companies

who appreciate solid creative thinking and value reasonable rates.

Jim Murray, Creative Director
Direct Line: 416 463-3475
Email: jim@onandup.ca
Web Site: www.onandup.ca
Portfolio: https://onwordsupwords.wordpress.com
Couch Potato Chronicles Blog: https://jimmurray.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

