The Post That Finally Frees My Soul

NEW FRIDAY FILES BANNER

Yes, my guard stood hard when abstract threats too noble to neglect
Deceived me into thinking I had something to protect
Good and bad, I define these terms quite clear, no doubt, somehow
Ah, but I was so much older then I’m younger than that now
                                                                                                              Bob Dylan

Over the past few months I have been working though some changes in my head. Part of that work is shaking off some of the obsessions I have had.

Last week I shook off my obsession with LinkedIn, and being a crusader Rabbit for what I, and many other writers, saw as an injustice being perpetrated upon them.

I spent quite a bit of time floating around in that pond, sounding off with harsh words about how badly LinkedIn was managing things.

Not coincidentally, when I found out that their share price had dropped by a whopping big 40%, pretty much based on all the things that myself and the writers I knew were criticizing, I began to feel vindicated.

When Jeff Wiener’s response to all this was that LinkedIn had encountered something he called “Secular Headwinds”, I almost fell off my chair laughing.

When I picked myself up off the floor, and my laughter subsided, I started to think, “Looks like my job here is done”, and proceeded to write myself an ending to that particular chunk of ennui that had been festering in my brain.

The Last Piece Of Shrapnel

From there I moved on to the last thing that was bugging me, and that was the political situation in the United States, more specifically the Republican situation, because the Democrats don’t seem to be going though much of anything.

First of all, I’m not an American. I am a Canadian but grew up in a sleepy border town called Fort Erie, and spent a good deal of my youth in America and hanging out with Americans.

Back in the 50s and early 60s, there weren’t a lot of cultural differences between Canada & the US, at least from a border town point of view. It was all about the people. The people I knew we good kids. Smart kids and party animals like you would not believe.

I had three or four American girlfriends and spent a lot of time there. And even though it was just what they called Upstate New York, I got to love it.

Because of these early feelings I have always had an abiding interest in America and what happens to it.

Over the years, the American and Canadian ideologies have grown further and further apart. Mostly in aid of keeping their Military Industry Complex well fed.

Anyone with a perspective on America from without has seen that they have always had their ups a and downs and there was always friction between the two main political parties.

Barack Obama Changed The Game

The election of Barack Obama in 2008 escalated and added new dimension to the friction between Democrats and Republicans. His re-election in in 2012 caused this fissure to widen into a huge gulf.

And the main cause of all this was the color of Mr Obama’s skin.

Think about that. Literally 160 years after the abolition of slavery in the US. After decades of constitutional amendments, civil right tragedies and victories, and major political assassinations, the United States is still nearly as racist a country as it was in Lincoln’s day.

In this year’s election, the gulf between the two parties continues to widen, but with a new twist. The far right of the Republican party, no longer referred to as the Tea Party, has found a new poster boy in the form of Donald J. Trump.

Mr.Trump, through his rhetoric, has revealed himself to be the manifestation of the dark side of the American consciousness. He spews division, racism, and misogyny. He is profoundly anti-Muslim. He publicly states that he will not just kill terrorists but their families as well. He condones violence against dissenting opinion. And he has the shorter fuse for anger than the average mongoose.

But what he has done is attract millions of followers who really believe he speaks for them, articulating their fears and and deeply held prejudices.

His political agenda doesn’t matter, so he has not bothered to construct one. He is smart enough to realize that the huge influence of media has turned everything into a popularity contest and he is an expert at being populist.

To anyone with whose value system skews towards humanistic, Mr Trump is the personification of evil in America.

I Am One Of Those Damn Humanists

And this has caused me a great deal of angst and consternation. So being a writer, I have written about it. A lot.

But yesterday, something occurred to me, as these things often do, sooner or later. The only damage that I was inflicting was to myself, the relationships I had on social media and to a lesser extent, the real world.

‘Nuff is ‘Nuff.

Yesterday I wrote my last Trump Post on Facebook, and this is my last one here.

Here’s The Facebook Post.

‘I have to tell you all right now, I have officially stopped worrying about what will happen to America if Trump becomes president. America is in the process of fucking itself in the ear, and nothing I can say will stop that from happening.

And, honestly, even if he does get elected, he really won’t have a clue what to do. Because it’s nothing like running your own private company where you’re god. The pressure from lobby groups, a wounded Republican party who mainly hate him, and a smart Democratic party who will stick it to him every chance they get, and all the foreign governments who will start banning him from coming to their country will quickly start making him feel like that poor bastard in the movie Alien, who has the little alien monster bust out of his stomach.

Only in Trump’s case it will most likely be his head exploding. Have you ever seen how pre-explosive his head gets when he’s stressed? It’s pretty fuckin’ weird.

So, here I am no longer giving a shit about Trump. You know, it was starting to feel like a bit of an albatross. But I was thinking about it today, and decided that, technically, it’s none of my business. So screw it.’

I don’t know if America is in its right mind at the moment. To my way of thinking, it’s basically proving to itself that things aren’t working the way they used to and that there are a great many people there who simply can’t, for one reason or another, adapt to the way things are right now and will be for the foreseeable future.

This is very sad. But the parting question is, and it’s a real doozie…How the hell is Donald J Trump gonna fix that?

****************

I am a communications professional, primarily a writer. Through my own core skills and with the help of a select group of insanely talented associates, I work with primarily B to B clients, large and small to create hard working communications in whatever sector of the marketing universe their strategy dictates the need to travel through. I am also a mentor, blog post editor and a pretty decent photographer.

If you have a marketing or communications challenge you would
like to discuss, (no obligation),  there are three ways you can contact me:

Direct Line: 416 463-3475
Email: onandup3@gmail.com
Skype: jimbobmur61

Finally, you can download my free ebook,
Small Business Communications For The Real World:
https://wordpress.com/post/onwordsandupwords.wordpress.com/557

5 thoughts on “The Post That Finally Frees My Soul

    1. Thanks Donna…I haven’t been keeping up with my reading. It’s suddenly gotten extremely busy work wise. One thing you should Know is that Phil and I are going to do out new He Said He Said
      with the owner of beBee, in advance of them opening their new publishing platform. Another good place to post. We’ll send him some questions as soon as it calms down a bit and I have a chance to write some.

  1. Well stated, Jim. What is happening to the U.S. in a sin. I am 70 years old and I often wonder what happened to the days when patriotism meant something. It’s not the same now. There is too much distrust, divide and greed. Trump supporters are hoping for a miracle because what other choice is there?

    It seems this quote by JFK has become a thought of the past. “My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.” John F. Kennedy

    1. Thanks very much for the comment. We’re about the same age and I remember that America too. I’m probably going to be doing some writing about how things got to be this way. My main theory is that the Industrial age here kind of ended when it got to costly to make stuff here, and the information age took over, leaving a lot of displaced souls. But I’m not sure that’s the only reason.

Leave a Reply

