I’m Taking A Leave Of Absence From LinkedIn. And Here’s Why

DSC09524

“I’ve been walking forty miles of bad road
If the bible is right, the world will explode
I’ve been trying to get as far away from myself as I can
Some things are too hot to touch
The human mind can only stand so much
You can’t win with a losing hand

Lotta water under the bridge, lotta other stuff too
Don’t get up gentlemen, I’m only passing through…

                                                         Bob Dylan

                                                       ***************************

This will be my last personal post on LinkedIn Pulse for an indefinite period of time. What follows, for those who are interested, is the story behind this decision.

For the past month or so, I have been going through something. Up until today I wasn’t able to recognize what it is. I figured it would come to me sooner or later and it would be, at least to me, significant.

And lo and behold, come to me it did.

At first I thought I might have been having some sort of mental breakdown or was suffering from intellectual fatigue.

As it turns out, what was bugging me was LinkedIn.

When I first started to get serious about participating here, probably about 4 years ago now, it was all shiny and new and held a great deal of promise. And I had a great time. Dove right in. The whole digital nine yards.

But then about two years ago, when LinkedIn invited me (and thousands of other people) to start posting directly on their publishing platform, the game changed somehow.

At first it was more exciting. Wow…look at all these people who are reading my stuff. It was pretty cool in a naive sort of way. But it was enough to power me through the next year.  Then something happened. LinkedIn, this great Land of Boundless Opportunity, started to get really strange.

Investigating this, I found out from people who knew what the hell was going on, (Sam Bailey, Phil Friedman, Gary Sharpe and several others), that LinkedIn was fucking with its algorithm and causing all kinds of pain and anguish. Not just to writers on their Pulse publishing platform, but to group owners and managers and who knows who else.

I dubbed this the beginning of the end. But being Italian and not wanting to go down without a fight, I joined in with both guns blazing and all the idealistic fervor of a college freshman raging against the machine.

A lot of us did. A whole brother and sisterhood emerged of people who were, and continue to this day to be, pissed off at the way they were being treated.

The only problem was that LinkedIn didn’t really give a damn. The critical mass of all the people who were complaining in a 450 million member universe amounted to virtually nothing to them.

This protest, which still goes on, is admirable in one way but a complete exercise in futility in another.

Along with, or maybe even as a byproduct of, all this draconian bullshit on the part of LinkedIn management, we all started to see the overall quality of the user experience on this site drop. Not coincidentally, right along with LinkedIn’s share price.

The great unwashed mass of social media idiots had found LinkedIn. The politicos started polluting the site with right wing bullshit. The memes from famous dead guys were flying. Math puzzles and semi-nude cuties were popping up everywhere. People showing their crappy logo designs and asking the world to pick one. More unprofessional crap than you can shake a stick at.

In short, LinkedIn is now exhibiting all the symptoms of turning to lowest common denominator shit, just like pretty much all the rest of social media and just like TV before it.

For a while, LinkedIn had been a haven for writers. But I have to be honest with myself and ask if all the effort I am putting forth here is really worth it anymore.

I had one business objective here and that was to expand my following as a blogger. That possibility no longer exists thanks to the gross mismanagement of the people who run this site.

As I said in a previous post, my true network here is very small and a lot of them already follow me here. so it’s not like I’m actually giving up all that much.

I’m just tired of being pissed off with LinkedIn. First of all it’s a pointless pursuit. And secondly, I’ve noticed (as have some of my friends) that this attitude permeates a lot of what I do here.

Frankly I think that this has caused me to lose the part of my identity as a writer that I value the most.

So here I go off into the wild blue yonder. The only blogs that I will be posting, except for the stuff I do with Phil Friedman, will be here and some other sites including beBee and Medium.

Linkedin has done nothing for me, and deserves nothing from me. It may still be the biggest game in town, but it’s far from the best. It’s been a dead horse that I am finally tired of beating.

I’m not closing my account and I have not shut the door completely, because that would not be practical on a number of levels.

But for all intents and purposes I am officially on a leave of absence.

“People are crazy and times are strange
I’m locked in tight, I’m out of range
I used to care, but things have changed”

*********************

I am a professional communicator and active observer of the human condition. I’m pretty sure I was a Viking in an earlier life. I work with primarily B to B clients, large and small to create hard working communications in whatever sector of the marketing universe their strategy dictates the need to travel through. I am also a mentor, blog post editor and a pretty decent photographer.

If you have a marketing or communication challenge you would
like to discuss, (no obligation),  there are three ways you can contact me:

Direct Line: 416 463-3475
Email: onandup3@gmail.com
Skype: jimbobmur61

If you want to check out some of my work…
CV, Portfolio & Services:
http://tinyurl.com/p6vqxe

Finally, you can download my free ebook,
Small Business Communications For The Real World:
(If you have trouble getting this link to open

just email me and I will send you a PDF)

2 thoughts on “I’m Taking A Leave Of Absence From LinkedIn. And Here’s Why

  1. I understand your frustration with the changing climate at LinkedIn. Having been a member for several years, I have seen it go from social and intellectual collaboration to something akin to a business flea market. My profile is still up but I have stopped updating it during the past year. I definitely understand the need to create revenue in order to support the site, but the selling out to anyone willing to pay for information, regardless of how it affects the members is not what I consider a good business practice. I applaud your pluck in abandoning the site and will continue to follow your writing here.
    Yours truly,
    Jim Palmer

    1. Thanks for your comment Jim. It’s amazing but it’s only been a few days and I’m already starting to feel like myself again. I think your analogy of the business flea market is great and pretty accurate. I do believe that there is a lowest common denominator on the Internet and that eventually all social media sites get there. The difference is that something like Facebook makes no apologies for it. I think, to a marketer like myself, that LinkedIn has a certain viability for my clients. I have one right now that I have been discussing promotion on LinkedIn with. But for myself, it’s not really anything even close to a land of opportunity. I’m going to try beBee next. Thanks again. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

